"Everything that concerns you"

The Eagle's Eye

"Everything that concerns you"

The Eagle's Eye

"Everything that concerns you"

The Eagle's Eye

Students win 18 state awards from ILPC


Akins journalism students won 18 statewide awards from the Interscholastic League Press Conference on Saturday at the organization’s annual Spring Convention held at the University of Texas—Austin.

The Individual Achievement Awards recognize students for work published in their campus student publications. These award winners had their work published in The Eagle’s Eye print newspaper and website.

Ashley Caceres-Sanchez 

  • News Writing — 3rd Place
  • News Page/Spread Design — 3rd Place

Nadim Lama

  • News Writing — Honorable Mention

Samantha Limon 

  • Infographic/Sidebar —3rd Place

Robert Lockay

  • General News Photo — Honorable Mention

Mark Lomas

  • Feature Page/Spread Design — Honorable Mention

Marcelo Palacios

  • Entertainment Page/Spread Design — Honorable Mention

Maxwell Pearson

  • Computer Art — Honorable Mention

Adamaris Olivares-Lopez

  • Sports Page/Spread Design — 2nd Place
  • Sports Action Photo — Honorable Mention

Kairi Natal

  • Photo Story — 2 Honorable Mention Awards
  • General News Photo — 1st Place

Ely Rodriguez

  • Infographic/Sidebar — Honorable Mention

Brandon Wicken

  • Personal Opinion Column — 2nd Place

Jonathon Wilson 

  • Entertainment Review — 1st Place
  • Student Art — Honorable Mention


  • Editorial Writing — Honorable Mention

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Eagle's Eye
Our Goal

Your donation will support the student journalists of Akins High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Eagle's Eye
Our Goal

Comments (0)

All The Eagle's Eye Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *